Skip to content

Alembic Cooper Still

July 13, 2010

Alembic 7.5 liter still

 

Today I received my new copper still!  Here it is in all its glory on the patio minus the hot plate, hoses and receiving container.   I’ve been researching stills with the idea of producing essential oils and hydrosols or flower waters to add to my soap.  I’m currently growing rosemary, white lavender, white sage, lemon verbena,  juniper and a little lemon balm.  Next year I’ll take a stab at planting fragrant roses for rose-water.   The hard part will be growing them organically.     

The Alembic copper still history is often disputed, but the design is really old.  I like this site for a good description:   

http://www.copper-alembic.com/distillation_history.php?lang=en 

My still was handcrafted in Portugal.  It will be initiated in the traditional way by first distilling rye flour to remove impurities.  I hope to do this Friday and have it cleaned up and on display this weekend at the Harrisonburg, VA  Farmers Market!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 2:39 AM

    Okay, but my head just exploded looking at that still in all its shiney, coppery, glory!!! Thanks…..but I now have a new goal. :o\

    Like

Leave a Reply

