Skip to content

Mojito Peacock Swirled Soap!

October 29, 2012

Handcrafted soap with a nonpareil pattern

I’ve been meaning to try a Peacock or Bouquet swirl for awhile.  I love the detail of it.

I’m using a HDPE divider slab mold that makes 30 bars.   This is cold process soap (lye soap) that is divided before trace and then colored with oxides and ultramarines.   The top swirl is created using little squeeze bottles to create thin lines of colored soap.  A tightly spaced comb is then dragged through the soap making a marbling design called a nonpareil.

You can make your own comb out of cardboard quite easily, but they get ratty with time and don’t wash well.   I had Rich Barko, who makes many of my molds, create several combs that we call Swirl Wands.   They are easy to wash and adjustable.

The second step in a peacock or bouquet patterned soap.

The second step is using a thicker comb or a chopstick and making “S” curves side by side.  This gives the appearance of peacock feathers or little bouquets.  It’s really pretty simple!

The dividers are inserted into the soap!

I chose lime and spearmint essential oils to scent this batch as they behave well and don’t create a fast trace like florals and spices can do.   The next batch I’m going to go for more contrasting color.   I was rushing this one and I will take a little more time for future batches.  I’m still pleased with my first attempt.

For a more information and a great video clip:

http://www.lovinsoap.com/2012/07/the-peacock-swirl-2/

Lori Curry ~ Magellan’s Gift™ ~ Adventure & Discovery in Fine Soap!

My Swirl Wand!  The teeth are removable, can be adjusted to any width and is very washable.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2012 1:46 PM

    Wow!!! So beautiful! The colors are amazing and you pulled it off beautifully! Kudos!

    Like

  2. November 20, 2012 10:01 AM

    So is this how combs are manufactured? I was totally unaware, The process looks quite simple and easy.

    Like

    • November 20, 2012 9:06 PM

      I don’t know of any combs that are manufactured for soap-makers. The several I have were custom made for me. Most soap-makers make their own with cardboard and tape. I like mine, because they are easy to clean. Thanks for your comments.

      Like

  3. Shelly Etter permalink
    May 23, 2013 7:19 PM

    I love your soap! Your peacock swirls are beautiful. Do you sell the swirl wands, or can you give me Rich Barko’s contact information? Thank you, Shelly

    Like

Leave a Reply

