Skip to content

Charity and Magellan’s Gift™ soap!

January 9, 2015
Charity Jars

Charity jars and soap made from the last of the pot scrapping.

Last fall I added three charity jars to my table at my Harrisonburg, VA Farmers Market booth. These are for spare change and occasionally I have soap for donation. The jars are containers that my lye (sodium hydroxide) arrive in. They now get used twice before ending up in a recycling bin! The soaps are made with the last scrapping of my buckets, squeeze bottles and cups. When making soap you have to move very fast and I don’t always have time to get every last bit out. So, for charity and to not overload my septic system, I’ve found a solution of scrapping out the remaining soap after the main batches are made. The goal is to have 3 charities to chose from, with at least one local charity. Friends of the North Fork is the first to be counted and a check will go to them for $38.05. I will have another local environmental charity to take its place soon. Starting this Saturday, a new jar will be on my table for the Second Home. This non-profit, community-supported organization provides a safe place for kids to go, learn and receive help with homework, reading and math to ensure academic success. You can learn more about Second Home on their website:

www.secondhomeharrisonburgva.wordpress.com

www.facebook.com/secondhomeharrisonburg

Don’t worry, if you don’t live local, my mail order customers may be gifted a pot scrapping soap with their order. Think about donating to your favorite charity!

Lori Curry ~ Magellan’s Gift™ ~ Adventure & Discovery in Fine Soap!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

