Skip to content

The Good Ship Victoria ~ The Survivor ~ a handcrafted soap!

February 26, 2015
the victoria 019bestcard

The Good Ship Victoria, a Magellan’s Gift™ handcrafted soap scented with grapefruit, lavender, peppermint, rose geranium and Persian lime essential oil.

This winter has been a tough one here in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia.  We have had long weeks of bitter cold, wind chill and now: more snow.  This time of year  I want spring, so my new soap needed to have a happy scent that is uplifting and light.  I also wanted something that makes me feel like a survivor, so naturally, I thought of Magellan’s Ship, the Victoria. The Victoria was the only surviving ship out five that completed its journey and brought back the epic tale of circumnavigation of the world.

To create a new scent, I work a drop at time, slowly evaluating the blend.  I’m not a perfumer, but I admire those that I know and the complexity of their craft.  In this blend, there are no base notes, just lots of high notes and a mid note or two.  I think you will find that grapefruit, lavender, peppermint, rose geranium and Persian lime give this soap a pleasingly soft citrus, almost floral scent with just a touch of peppermint to spice it up.  This scent is perfect now, but citrus scents are fleeting, so you want to use this soap within three months for the best effect in the shower.  It is my current favorite with a beautiful natural color of just the ingredients poured on a imprint mat.

Sailing onwards to spring!

Lori Curry ~ Magellan’s Gift™ ~ Adventure & Discovery in Fine Soap!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2015 2:18 AM

    Absolutely beautiful soap! I’m sure it smells divine, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

